Which is the Best IPL Team So Far? Decoding the Data

Till the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Mumbai Indians have won 5 titles, Chennai Super Kings 4, Kolkata Knight Riders 2, Sunrisers Hyderabad 1, Rajasthan Royals 1, and Deccan Chargers have 1 IPL title. Yet, the debate ‘which is the best IPL team’ has never been settled. So, let’s dig some stats and find out the best team in the league’s history.

India is a cricket-crazy nation where cricket is described as a religion. It is a sport that connects people from different religions and backgrounds in the country to celebrate their team’s win.

Also Read: Almost Muted Celebrations For PSG; What Next For the French Giants?

However, things change when it comes to the IPL. Although the T20 cricket league doesn’t divide Indian cricket fans, it makes them more passionate about their IPL favorite teams and cricketers. For example, a Chennai Super Kings (CSK) fan may be an admirer of both Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni when they are playing for India. But, the individual’s opinion may change during an IPL season.

IPL, which started in 2008, brings the best cricketers from around the world to play against each other in 10 teams. The league divides players into different teams. This leads to debate among fans. Mumbai Indians (MI) fans think their team is the best because it has won the most titles until now. On the other hand, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) fans believe they have the best team because they have cricketers like Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis, and Glenn Maxwell.

Similarly, fans of other IPL teams claim their teams to be the best. Read more below to find stats that help find the best IPL team so far.

Best IPL Team in the Tournament’s History

 It has been 14 seasons so far, and many teams have earned many fans and a huge amount of money. MI won the most number of trophies (5), but CSK has the most impressive winning percentage (60.56%) with four trophies in its cabinet. In addition, CSK is known for winning the fairest Play Awards: Six.

Apart from that, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) has been one of the most consistent IPL teams as it has qualified for playoffs six times in its nine seasons. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won the IPL titles twice and has a winning percentage of 51.67%.

So, which is the best team in the IPL history?

IPL Team Winning Percentage

Tata IPL 2022 has a total of 10 teams. The last edition had eight teams. The table below includes teams that have played more than 100 matches in the league so far.

Team Total Matches (Till 2021) Win Percentage
Chennai Super Kings 195 60.56%
Mumbai Indians 217 58.52%
Royal Challengers Bangalore 211 48.06%
Kolkata Knight Riders 209 52.15%
Rajasthan Royals 175 49.42%
Delhi Capitals 210 45.67%
Punjab Kings 204 45.58%
Sunrisers Hyderabad 138 50.72%

Fair Play Award Winners

 As told earlier, CSK won the Fair Play Award six times. Rajasthan Royals (RR), Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Mumbai Indians won it twice, while Kings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings) grabbed the title once. Apart from that, Gujarat Lions, which was a part of the league for the 2016 and 2017 seasons won the Fair Play Award once.

Which is the Best IPL Team?

 The debate around the best IPL team has been there since the first season, and it’s not going to end anytime soon. No matter how many titles a team may have won or what’s the winning percentage, no fan will accept that other teams are better than their favorite team.

By the way, which is your favorite team? Or, what do you think is the best team in the IPL history?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *